The Infernal Devices (Clare)

Next up: “Clockwork Angel”, “Clockwork Prince”, and “Clockwork Princess” by Cassandra Clare.


This is a prequel series, of a sort, to The Mortal Instruments (reviewed here).  It does not spoil events in those books, being about different characters and set in Victorian England rather than modern day New York.  There’s not much overlap.  However, I recommend reading The Mortal Instruments before this series. Continue reading “The Infernal Devices (Clare)”


The Mortal Instruments (Clare)

Next up: “City of Bones”, “City of Ashes”, “City of Glass”, “City of Fallen Angels”, “City of Lost Souls”, and “City of Heavenly Fire” by Cassandra Clare.


The first three books were our introduction into Clare’s Shadowhunter ‘verse; after those three, Clare began publishing a ‘prequel’ trilogy (The Infernal Devices, which will also be reviewed).  The release of the prequel trilogy books was staggered with the release of the second half of The Mortal Instrument series books.  Companion books have also been published, and the sequel series The Dark Artifices is also slated for release (the first book, “Lady Midnight” in March 2016). Continue reading “The Mortal Instruments (Clare)”

The Hunt for Red October (Clancy)

Next up: “The Hunt for Red October” by Tom Clancy.


I read this because of the movie, to be honest.  The book has a lot more in it than the movie, as usual, since they had to pare down a lot of it to fit into about 2 hours.  The movie’s generally faithful to the book, and since I liked the movie, I thought the book was a fun read. Continue reading “The Hunt for Red October (Clancy)”

Bitterblue (Cashore)

Next up: “Bitterblue” by Kristin Cashore


The third book in Cashore’s Graceling realm.  It’s a little bit more of a sequel to them, as there are several characters that make appearances that make more sense if you’ve read the other books.  “Bitterblue” can be read on its own, but I think to get the most out of it, reading “Graceling” and “Fire” is necessary.  As such, warning for spoilers to the other two books below.

Continue reading “Bitterblue (Cashore)”

The Lost Stars (Campbell)

Next up: “Tarnished Knight”, “Perilous Shield”, and “Imperfect Sword” by Jack Campbell.


Don’t think I don’t see your pseudo-Mass Effect armor, there, “Imperfect Sword” cover…

This is a companion series to Beyond the Frontier (reviewed here), in that it takes place at the same time but starring the Syndics (oooo!).  Both series are sequel-series to The Lost Fleet (reviewed here), which means that there may be spoilers below the cut.  This series is on-going, with the next book (“Shattered Spear”) due out in May. Continue reading “The Lost Stars (Campbell)”

The Lost Fleet: Beyond the Frontier (Campbell)

Next up: “Dreadnaught”, “Invincible”, “Guardian”, “Steadfast”, and “Leviathan” by Jack Campbell


This is a continuation series of The Lost Fleet (reviewed here), so there will be spoilers for that one coming up.  “Leviathan” may not be exactly the ending of the series, but Campbell does say he’s taking a bit of a break right now to figure out where next he wants to take the story. Continue reading “The Lost Fleet: Beyond the Frontier (Campbell)”